Meditation For Children

Following on from my last blog where I was bricking it over having my first ever speaker slot at an event, here I am, the other side of it.  Feeling pretty damn good about it all actually.  My talk went really really well, and the feedback was amazing.

This led me to believe that you may all like an insight into my talk.  Why meditation is important to not only us but our children too!

I think we all know or have read about how meditation helps us as adults.  From relaxation, to better health, better sleep to quicker recovery times, to giving a greater connection to the Universe, Divine Source or whatever else you may call it.

So if it is so good for us, then think of the benefits our children could receive too, if only we taught them.  There have been a lot of studies within education institutions both here and the US (and probably other countries as well) that look at how childrens behaviour can change drastically with a few sessions of meditation.

What we need to remember though, is that we as adults can find it very difficult to maintain a meditative state.  There are some that think they can’t meditate because they have not found the best way for them to do so.  Our attention spans are quite extensive compared to a child, so we need to adjust any practises accordingly.

A good rule of thumb that I was taught during my 20+ years working with children, is that you can only expect a child to have an attention span of double their age in minutes ie.  a 2 year old would have a maximum attention span time of 4 minutes (if you are lucky).  We also need to realise that making a child sit still for any period of time can be a bit tricky too.

How can we overcome this?  Well, firstly think about one of the new crazes for adults – adult colouring books, and how are these marketed to us – they reduce stress, and how do they do that, whilst colouring we are switching our brains off, relaxing, concentrating on something creative that becomes almost meditative.  And we can do the same with children, colouring beside each other, not talking the whole time can lower a child’s stress levels, and can even calm them down.

Another thing that can be tried is the glitter bottle or jar.  There are plenty of instructions on google.  When a child is getting too boisterous, upset or even tired, get the jar, give it a shake and let them lose themselves in watching the glitter fall to the bottom of the jar.

My favourite pastime with my kids is mindful walking and sitting on the grass.  Walking barefoot when it is warm enough too.  Connecting with the ground in this way can be very energising, de-stressing and calming.  We call it grounding, they call it fun.  My kids love to lay on the grass and watch the clouds too – again you can get lost in doing this, which puts us or rather them into a meditative state.

Of course, if they are a little older we can introduce more mainstream meditation, with visualisations etc.

All of these methods can be adapted to work with any age group, children with special needs or even teenagers stressing over exams. There are so many ways our children can benefit.

And this is where I come in.  I am offering my services to not only you but your children too, on a one to one basis, and groups once my therapy room is up and running.  Working on a plan together to introduce meditation to your young children.  Email me for further details and fees at nikkismysticcorner@gmail.com.  If you run a school group or local club and want to book me for sessions there as well, be assured that I have a current DBS certificate.  I look forward to hearing from you.

Nikki

 

Leave a Reply

